Musings on MOANA

12

Favorite Lyrics:

“Sometimes the world seems against you
The journey may leave a scar
But scars can heal and reveal just
Where you are

The people you love will change you
The things you have learned will guide you
And nothing on Earth can silence
The quiet voice still inside you
And when that voice starts to whisper
Moana, you’ve come so far
Moana, listen
Do you know who you are?”
I Am Moana (2016). Performed by Rachel House.

I seriously have not much to say about Moana but it doesn’t mean that it’s not good. I am speechless because I can’t remember the last time I cried in the cinemas except when I watched Moana.

The story of Moana speaks so much to me, from breaking boundaries, getting strength from the people you love, and helping others to realize who they truly are.

My favorite parts always involve Gramma Tala, Moana’s grandmother. Just like Moana, my grandparents inspired me to dream high and reach for it despite of many setbacks, and Gramma Tala was like my grandparents in a lot of ways. There was a scene when Moana almost gave up, Gramma Tala freely gave her the option to go back as long as it is what she really wants and this same thing happening to me right now as I contemplate on whether I should go back to law school or not.

Overall, I’d like to watch it again and perhaps, on the second time I watch it, I wouldn’t be as emotional as the first time.

Leave a Reply

